Orange County DUI Attorneys

DUI Penalties in Orange County and Throughout California

California observes strict penalties in regards to driving under the influence (DUI). License suspension, jail time, probation, DUI school and fines are all likely to be in the future of a person convicted of driving under the influence. If you do not have an experienced attorney to defend you through the DUI process and at your DMV hearing, you may receive maximum penalties

At the Law Offices of Coffey & Coffey, we defend those arrested for DUI throughout Orange County and the surrounding areas in California. Some of the cities we cover include Laguna Niguel, Santa Ana, Newport Beach, Fullerton and Westminster. If you have been arrested for driving under the influence in Orange County, contact a lawyer at our firm for a free case evaluation. We will discuss your charges with you and see how we can help.

1st DUI Offense

Penalties for a DUI conviction will depend upon a number of factors, but the most important one tends to be whether you have any prior DUI convictions on your record. If this is your first offense, you can expect to face:

  • 48 hours to 6 months in county jail
  • 6 month license suspension
  • 1 to 5 years of probation
  • DUI school
  • Fines and court fees totaling $1400 to $1800

2nd DUI Offense

For a second DUI conviction, you will face increased penalties. These include:

  • 96 hours to 1 year in county jail
  • 2 year license suspension
  • 3 to 5 years of probation
  • DUI school / alcohol classes for up to 18 months
  • Fines and court fees of up to $1800 to $2800
  • Ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle

3rd DUI Offense

For a third DUI conviction, you may face:

  • 120 days to 1 year in county jail
  • 3 year license suspension
  • Up to 5 years of probation
  • DUI school for up to 18 months
  • Fines of $1800 to $2800
  • Ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle

4th DUI Offense – Felony DUI

A fourth DUI conviction may be charged as a felony, meaning you may face a minimum of 1 year in a California state prison. The specific charges you may face include: permanent license suspension, up to 5 years of probation and up to 3 years in state prison. These penalties are harsh and are meant to discourage repeat offenders.

If you find yourself facing a first or even a fourth driving under the influence charge, take a moment to contact a lawyer at our firm as soon as possible. We will review your particular case and see what we can do for you.

Contact an Orange County DUI attorney at Coffey & Coffey today!


Have you been arrested for DUI in the Chicago area? Contact a Chicago DUI attorney at Fagan Fagan and Davis to schedule a free DUI case evaluation to discuss the facts of your case and save your drivers license. The firm has devoted a signifcant portion of their criminal defense practice to defending DUI cases and is a member of the prestigous National College of DUI Defense and frequently attends DUI defense seminars around the country educating themselves on the latest trial strategies employed by other successful DUI attorneys around the country. If you or a loved one has been arrested or detained for a DUI or drunk driving related offense, please contact the firm today to speak directly with a lawyer about your case.

Arrested for DUI in Denver? Contact Denver DUI attorney, Christopher Cessna to save your driving privileges and defend your legal rights. There are many facets to the defense of DUI charges and only an experienced DUI lawyer will be able to provide you with a possitive outcome to the case. While there are hundreds of criminal defense attorneys that you can choose from, it's important that you hire a lawyer that focuses exclusively on DUI and drunk driving related matters.